Professor Akihito Ishizaki from the Theoretical and Computational Molecular Science Department at the Institute for Molecular Science in Okazaki Japan is the winner of the 2016 Sir Martin Wood Prize. Professor Ishizaki was awarded the prize for the 'Theoretical Development of Real-time Quantum Dissipative Dynamics and Its Application to Molecular Systems'.

Professor Ishizaki was awarded with the medal, certificate and a total cash prize of ¥500,000 at the British Embassy in Tokyo by Mr. Tim Hitchens, the British Ambassador on Friday 11th November 2016 and gave a lecture on his work at the 2016 Millennium Science Forum held organised by Oxford Instruments and chaired by Professor Maki Kawai from the University of Tokyo. Among the guest speakers at the event were Professor Kohzo Ito from the University of Tokyo and Professor Christine Done from Durham University.

The Millennium Science Forum was established in 1998 to promote scientific exchange between Britain and Japan and award the Sir Martin Science Prize to a young researcher from a Japanese University or research institute who has performed outstanding research in the area of condensed matter science. The prize is named after Sir Martin Wood, Founder and Honorary President of Oxford Instruments plc.

On winning the prize, Professor Ishizaki also gets the opportunity to give a series of lectures at the leading British and German Universities. Here is the schedule for his lectures: 

03-July-17 Max Planck Institutes, Stuttgart, Germany
04-July-17 Oxford University, UK
05-July-17 University College of London (UCL), UK
06-July-17 Manchester University, UK
07-July-17 Leeds University, UK

Previous winners of the Sir Martin Wood Prize for Japan include –

Dr Takuya Satoh, Kyushu University (2015)
Dr Masamitsu Hayashi, NIMS (2014)
Dr Naoya Shibata, University of Tokyo (2013)
Dr Daichi Chiba, Kyoto University (2012)
Dr Yukio Kawano, Tokyo Institute of Technology (2011)
Dr Shuichi Murakami, Tokyo Institute of Technology (2010)
Dr Yousoo Kim, RIKEN (2009)
Dr Teruo Ono, Kyoto University (2008)
Dr Eiji Saito, Keio University (2008)
Dr Akira Ohtomo, Tohoku University (2007)
Dr Kazutomo Suenaga, AIST (2006)
Dr Tsuyoshi Kimura, Osaka University (2005)
Dr Yuzo Ohno, Tohoku University (2004)
Dr Toshimasa Fujisawa, NTT basic research laboratories (2003)
Dr Ichiro Terasaki, Waseda University (2002)
Dr Keiya Shirahama, Keio University (2001
Dr Katsuya Shimizu, Osaka University and Dr Tokushi Kizuka, Nagoya University (2000) 
Dr Yasunobu Nakamura of NEC Corporation (1999)

The Sir Martin Wood Prize selection committee consists of eight senior professors from Japanese Universities and is chaired by Professor Hidetoshi Fukuyama from Tokyo University of Science.

Further details of the Sir Martin Wood Prize and nomination procedures can be obtained from the Secretariat at or email to

On winning the prize, Professor Ishizaki receives ¥500,000 in cash and the opportunity to give a series of lectures in British Universities, including Oxford University. Keep an eye on this page to find out the schedule for his lectures. If you would like to attend any of these lectures or would like to have more information, email us at

Had a great evening yesterday, networking with low temperature physicists over a reception at DPG Spring Meeting, s…
5:48 PM - 15 Mar 18
View more of our tweets